My Dad on the right and his two buddies

Happy Father’s Day to all the Fathers out there. My Dad is the quintessential self-made man. Although he came from a long line of academics, he paved his own destiny. He broke the family tradition of studying in England and took a chance on a full scholarship to the University of Hawaii. From there he went on to a PhD not only enlightened his students but his daughters.

As children, my sister and I would practice world capitals with my Dad and we were more interested in playing 20 questions than the usual childhood antics. He also gave us a love of food and pushed us to go outside of our comfort zone. Back in the eighties, my Dad used to cook us mussels in white wine sauce, quiche, beef stronganoff, and other dishes that were not cooked in the usual Pakistani household.

Now, we do not really let my Dad into the kitchen and he jokes with us and says he is always being ganged up on by three women (my sister, my mom, and I). Nowadays his palate craves traditional Pakistani dishes. His favorites are chicken curry, koftay (meatballs), and nihari (stewed beef). We always tease him about his food choices because they are not our favorite dishes in Pakistani cuisine.  Regardless, we have learned innumerable things from our Dad and wish him a great Father’s Day!

Me, my husband, my mother-in-law, my sister, my Dad, my Mom

photo credits: Andre Blais http://www.riphotographer.com