IMG_8208

I have loved artichoke dip since I was a child.  This is because one of our dear family friends, Marjorie Aunty is a great cook and artichoke dip is one of her many specialities.  This dip is so delicious that you just can’t help but say, “MMMmmmmmMMMMMmmmm.”  I usually make it when I have company over.  I let the guests eat it and when they are gone, (if there is any left) I reheat it and eat it by myself in peace!  It is SO good that you would want to sneakily eat it like a guilty pleasure.  It’s salty and creamy and tangy and oh so fattening.

IMG_8168

IMG_8173

IMG_8189

I use Hellman’s Half the Fat Mayo in this dip and it still tastes sinful.  But, if I feel like really indulging I use full-fat mayo.  Some like to add spinach in their artichoke dip but I feel the spinach just washes out the flavor of the artichoke.  I add jalapenos for an added kick, I leave the seeds in but remove them if you want a milder dip.  I opt for marinated artichokes because they tangier and contrast quite well with the smoothness of the mayo, sour cream, and cheese.  This dip requires no effort and is ideal as an appetizer for last minute guests.  Bake it and forget about it!

IMG_8182

IMG_8195

IMG_8203

Artichoke Jalapeno Dip

Serves 5 (as an appetizer)

Use Real Butter’s Version is here.

Ingredients

1  6 ounce jar of marinated artichokes (separate from oil and vinegar marinade), roughly chopped

1/2 cup half the fat mayo (if you want, use full-fat, more power to you!)

1/2 cup light sour cream (same as above regarding full-fat)

8 medium sized balls of fresh mozzerella IMG_8212

1/2 cup grated parmigiano reggiano

1/2 cup  grated Swiss or gruyere cheese

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 jalapeno, diced (seeded if you want it milder)

6-7 chives chopped

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 cup Panko bread crumbs

1 tablespoon butter to dab over bread crumbs

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Mix together the mayo, sour cream, the three cheeses, garlic, jalapenos, chives, salt, and pepper in a medium size bowl.  Transfer to a baking dish mine was 5 by 8.  Sprinkle on the bread crumbs and dab the top with butter.  Bake for 25 minutes then switch the heat to broil for about 5 minutes or until the top gets golden brown and bubbly, ooey gooey, and yum!  Let the dip settle for about 10 minutes, otherwise it will be scalding hot.  Serve with water crackers, baguette, or tortilla chips.

