IMG_8156

Apple crisp has to be an autumnal favorite of mine.  More than the apples I love the crunchy sweet oatmeal crisp layer.  But, I stumbled upon a variety of apples I had never heard of before, “honeycrisp.”  These apples are true to their name, sweet like honey and very crisp.  I loved the flavors of the apples so much that I took more apples than the crisp, which has never been the case.

IMG_8122IMG_8124IMG_8126

This has the same flavors of apple pie without the crust.  Though it is nice to put a little elbow grease in and come out with a nice apple pie.  I will make one soon *fingers crossed.*  The problem with desserts is that there are only two of us and you can’t make a pie or cake for two.  Wait, did I just say “problem” with desserts.  I must have been delusional for a second there.  There is no “problem” with desserts…bring on the sweet goodness!

IMG_8133IMG_8139

Apple Crisp

Adpated from Ina Garten’s recipe (I halved most of the amounts and reduced the citrus because I find too much citrus in apple desserts gives a Pinesol taste, not that I’ve tasted Pinesol, hehe)

Serves 4

Ingredients

Apple component:

3 Honeycrisp apples, 1 Gala, 1 Golden Delicious (or whatever you prefer, and the Honeycrisps are large apples so take that into account if using a smaller variety)

1/4 cup sugar

pinch of nutmeg

1 teaspoon cinnamon

juice of half an orange

1/4 teaspoon of lemon zest

Crisp component:

3/4 cup quick oats

3/4 cup flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 stick of butter

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Butter your baking dish.  I used an 8 by 8 square dish.  Combine all the apple components together in a bowl and pour into the baking dish.  I used my mini food processor and pulsed all the crisp ingredients together until it formed a crumbly mixture (break the butter into chunks so it will combine better).  Pour on top of the apples evenly.  Bake in the oven at 350 for 1 hour but check it at 45 minutes to make sure the crisp is not burning.  Serve with vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream. (Neither of which I had).

*An extra bonus would be a drizzle of caramel similar to the recipe here.

