IMG_8105

My husband goes on and off his P90-X kick.  If you all are not aware, P90-x is my arch-nemesis.  It is a workout and diet regime that simply put, I loathe.  Well more than the the workouts I detest the diet.  My husband is all or nothing, he’s a glutton one week or a poster child for anorexic eating habits another week.  So, when he’s on p90-X, he’s REALLY ON P90-X. This diet regimen consists of eating 8 egg-white omelets with fat-free cheese for breakfast, just the thought makes me shudder.  For lunch, you are allowed half a pound of sodium/fat-free chicken or turkey breast on top of a romaine salad.  Dinner is comprised of a flavorless half pound piece of protein and some steamed vegetables and only if you are lucky, a side of vegetable soup.  Yeah, it’s a low-carb, zero taste program and when my husbands belly starts reappearing his need to go back to Phase 1 of this diet resurfaces to my utter dismay.

My outlook is workout daily if you can and eat a balanced and healthy diet and indulge once in a while.  If I was on this p90-X diet, I would become an absolute beast.  I would be in a bad mood all the time, because when I’m hungry I AM irritable!  Back to his diet, as you have become aware you need to eat a lot of protein on this regimen.  So, of course my husband bought 30 bone-in chicken breasts for his diet.  They took up half my freezer and as you can guess he stuck on the diet for about 4 days!

Therefore, I am left with chicken breasts galore.  Today, I decided to utilize them for something.  What something?  I had no idea.  Only can that chick (no pun intended) from that Food network show I dislike can find a recipe for chicken breast 5 days a week.  The idea of lemon popped into my head…lemon chicken.  IMG_8074Okay, I had a starting point but how could I make the chicken exciting and yummy?  I opened my spice cabinet for inspiration and saw cardamom pods, cloves, and saffron.  Then it struck me!  I should go Persian on my chicken.  Thus, I came up with today’s dinner Chicken Kabab with Afghani rice (or my take on those dishes atleast).  I ground the spices together the aroma filled my kitchen and can you believe it, I felt thankful to p90-X in some strange sort of way.

Persian Chicken Kebab

Serves 3

Ingredients

2 chicken breasts, in chunks (I cut the chicken up into pieces after I had marinated it, but I should have done it first)

3 cloves of garlic, minced

juice of 1/2 a lemon

1/2 teaspoon of lemon zest

1/2 teaspoon of saffron threads dissolved in 2 tablespoons hot waterIMG_8100

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1-2 cardamom pod, 2-3 cloves, 1/2 inch piece of cinnamon all ground together in a spice mill

1 teaspoon kosher salt

black pepper to taste

lemon wedges, for garnish

cilantro leaves, for garnish

Combine all of the above ingredients in a bowl and allow to marinate for 4 hours.  Then, grill on outdoor grill or grill pan (I used a grill pan because it was far to cold for me to use our building’s roof top grill 😉 ).  Cook on one side for about 5-7 minutes and then flip for 5-7 more.  Check to make sure it is fully cooked.  Garnish with lemon wedges and cilantro leaves.  Serve with Afghani Rice* and Kachumbar (Chopped vegetable) salad,* or Naan.

IMG_8117

*Note:  Recipes to follow :).

