There are just some foods you always use.  If I am eating a sandwich, 9 times out of 10 it has arugula in it.  I do not usually buy steaks, but this day I was feeling it.  I mean I love red meat, juicy, tender, and flavorful, but I am not that confident cooking it at home.  Therefore, it is usually reserved for restaurants.  This should change.  After making this steak sandwich I realized it is not hard at all.  Yes, this should be reserved for an occasional splurge, but I had to share it for the times you are feeling carnivorous.  (Sorry, vegetarians and vegans).  Yes, you can substitute chicken or eggplant, or tofu, but in this case I choose not to!  Yes, that was a little mean.  I promise, I am not mean.  All in good fun!

I used strip loin steak, which served its purpose well here.  I smothered it with a chipotle, feta, herb, and roasted garlic dip.  I realized this is a signature move of mine: making a dip full of herbs in my mini food processor.  I swear, it is so easy and so yum!  Plus, the combinations are endless.  I must say, I love making dips.  I am a mad woman with my food processor.  Honestly, I do not know what i would do without it.

I should stop gushing about my food processor, you might get the wrong idea.  This post is supposed to be about my steak sandwich!  I caramelized onions (another “habit” of mine) with yellow peppers, jalapenos, and mushrooms.  This steak sandwich does have a few identity issues.  Does it want to be Southwest, Philly, Mediterranean style?  Does it really matter?  I do not think so.  All the combinations taste good together and that is what is important to me.

Also, be warned, this sandwich is messy!  I love to eat messy.  It is more fun.  There is a time and place is be civilized and dainty, but not when it comes to a steak sandwich.  I will leave the proper decorum to the finger sandwich and scone crowd.

New York Strip and Caramelized Onion, Mushrooms, Peppers and a Chipotle Feta Dip Sandwiches (what a mouthful!)

makes 3 Sandwiches

Ingredients

extra virgin olive oil

1 pound Strip Loin Steak

kosher salt

freshly ground black pepper

1/2 a red onion, sliced thinly

3 sprigs of thyme

handful of cilantro leaves

1/2 a bell pepper, sliced (any color you prefer)

1 jalapenos pepper, seeded and julienned

10 mushroom caps, kept whole (any variety you like)

fresh baby arugula leaves

1 avocado, sliced

1 multigrain baguette

For the dip

1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream

2 tablespoons lite mayo

1-2 chipotle peppers (1 for medium spicy, 2 for extra hot)

10 sprigs of chives, roughly chopped

1/2 cup parsley, roughly chopped

1/2 cup cilantro, roughly chopped

5 cloves of roasted garlic (Take the cloves of garlic, add salt, pepper olive oil, wrap them in foil and bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes, or until they are soft and spreadable like butter)

1/4 cup feta cheese

juice of half a lime

dash of extra virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon honey

kosher salt, to taste

freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Method

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Heat an oven safe pan on medium heat.  Add a little olive oil to the pan.  Season the steak generously with salt and black pepper.  Sear  the steak for about 2 minutes per side.  Transfer the pan to the oven for 8 minutes for medium-rare.  Remove from the oven and allow to rest for 10-15 minutes.  After resting slice on a bias against the grain.

In a pan on medium-low heat sauté the onions with the thyme for about 10 minutes until they begin to caramelize.  Add in the mushrooms and cook for 5 more minutes.  Season with salt and pepper.  Add in the bell peppers and some cilantro and allow the peppers to soften, about 2-3 minutes.  Set aside.

For the dip, in a mini food processor add all the ingredients and pulse until combined.

To assemble the sandwiches, spread the dip on the baguette, lay the steak, avocado, caramelized onions, peppers, mushrooms, top off with the baby arugula and dig in!

